NaNoMo National Novel Writing Month

It’s December. And the National Novel Writing Month is over which occurs in November. Well I have tried it twice. This year as I stated a friend had invited me into her group of other established writers such as herself and they all just wrote and posted their progress. And asked for encouragement throughout the month. Let me tell you, you should all aspire to be like them. It didn’t matter they all wrote. All come from various stages in their writing career- most making money off of their published works.
So although I didn’t finish my novel, I did get back into writing it. My problem however, is that I have to finish it and make it so that I like it, and that it is good and understandable and a mystery is shown to me and to you the reader. And that it makes sense and you can read it as well as pick out the clues on our own.
So my goal is to finish the novel and to step back. I am hoping to have it shown to a new group to critique it. The first group I showed it to said I had a lot of work to do. That I had a lot of backstory and not enough story. That the mystery wasn’t well thought out and that it was okay but not well written. So I had a lot of work to do based on that person’s opinion. So ok- I hate criticism. But I will take it, internalize it, rail against it and then learn from it. My book is going to be DYNAMITE! So now that I have said that- wait until it gets published and hopefully in the book stores. That will be my proof to you that I am indeed a good writer. And if you buy my book, all the better. You gave me the criticizm I needed to make it better. And make it better I shall.
So my goal is to take what I learned from the group which was to continue writing-even if I think it is not good. When I am stressed out to take a break and then re-visit it later on. I might have better ideas by then. And to finish the story.
My story at last count was over 10,000 words. When I hit that goal I was very proud of myself. I hadn’t thought I could do that. But I did. So I am not really sure of the end word count. I will let the story decided that. But I am hoping to have a friend read it when it is completed and give me feedback as to what they think of it. I am not expecting a home run best seller like it was written about in the article about Darcie Chan that my friend gave me but I am hoping to have a good enough book to make decent sales.

So here is a little organizational tool I developed from my NaNoMo experience this year.
First- plan if this is a new novel or a continuation.
Second- set a goal of how many words per day that you want or per week. It doesn’t matter the amount only that you make it if you can.
And finally, just write and see what happens.
Thats your plan for the whole month. Some of the people I talk to, have actually written new novels that are now published and doing well in th booksphere. So you see it can be done and has been done by other people.
So if they can do it, you can do it and I can do it.

For those in the know: how many times have you read a book and gone- thats a good idea- a lot right? Well I have a plan for this year that arose out of me reading a time management novel. Thats like a bible.
I will finish the novel and I will have it read by a friend. And there is no date because what I need to do is finish it at this point. Completely written and ready to read. So that’s my goal as I said. And I am sticking to it hopefully.

Chat ya laterz fellow friends.

Leave a Reply

